Mushroom Sauce

26 Nov

Last night Jason grilled some boneless pork chops and sausage. I made a really yummy mushroom sauce to pour over the pork chops. It was also great spooned over a baked potato. I got it from Robin Miller's Quick Fix Meals, but I altered it slightly. So, since I changed it I feel okay posting the recipe.

Mushroom-Garlic Sauce

Ingredients:
  • 16 oz. package of fresh mushrooms (I used what I could find, which was button mushrooms. If you live in a more "cultured" area, you could probably use some type of wild mushroom. And, no, Mom, you cannot use the canned mushrooms for this. Must be fresh!)
  • Garlic (If you are using actual cloves, use around 2 – or more if your daring – but I don't bother with the stuff. I keep a jar of already minced garlic in the fridge. So I used about 1 tbsp. Actually I might have used 2 because I really like garlic. Makes my breath stinky. Pedro likes it too. Jason, not so much.) 
  • 1 tsp. dried thyme (I, like Rachel Ray, just eyeball in the palm of my hand.) 
  • 2 1/2 cups of low-sodium beef broth (You could use any type of broth you want, but I find it much better with beef broth.) 
  • 2 tbsp. cornstarch 
  • OH, and DUH, olive oil. Use however much you're comfortable with. 

Directions:

  • Slice the mushrooms. Heat some olive oil in a large skillet. Saute the mushrooms for 3-5 minutes, until browned, juicy, and less in volume. (Sorry, don't know the technical lingo here. Nikki, what would be a better way to word that?)
  • Add the garlic. Saute for about one more minute. (Or like five more in my kitchen because I'm never prepared enough. Need a sous chef.)  
  • Add 2 cups of broth. Note: This is not the full amount of broth I mentioned earlier. You will save the 1/2 cup for later.  
  • Let simmer for 10 minutes. Partially cover the pan. 
  • Meanwhile, whisk together 1/2 cup broth and 2 tbsp. cornstarch. **See, I like my sauces to have a gravy-like consistency. And, while this sauce is amazing, it's a little too thin for me. If you like your sauce thin you could omit this step. But I find it's worth it. Also, you could just add the cornstarch to the the simmering sauce, but then you get lumps. It takes only a few seconds to whisk this together, and it's worth it in the end. Saves you a lot of time.  
  • After 10 minutes of simmering, add the cornstarch mixture to the mushroom mixture. Turn off the heat and let stand for a minute. Goodness is about to happen. See it thickening? Hmmm….yummmm….Must devour. 
  • Salt and pepper to taste. I found that it didn't need any salt because the meat and potatoes that I spooned this over were already seasoned.

 This was so good over grilled pork chops and baked potatoes. You could also spoon this over, well, pretty much any type of meat.

Leave a Reply

